Greeley Ice Haus Skaters and Mountain View Skating Club Take First Place in Competition

Greeley Ice Haus Skaters and Mountain View Skating Club Take First Place in Competition

The Greeley Ice Haus and Mountain View Skating Club (MVSC) skaters are celebrating their first-place overall win in the 2022 Colorado Springs Invitational hosted by Centennial Skating Club in Monument. Their achievement ended a 20-year winning streak by another Colorado rink and skate club.

“This accomplishment really speaks to the commitment of the Ice Haus and MVSC skaters and coaches,” said Carla Villavicencio, recreation coordinator with the City of Greeley. “I’m so proud of everyone’s hard work and dedication. Every skater executed their routines well and had nearly flawless performances.”

Nine ice skaters and figure skaters from Greeley competed in the Learn to Skate Basic Skills and Freeskate competitions, each skater finishing in the top three places of their individual skill levels. The Greeley Ice Haus rink and MVSC’s combined score of 500, exceeded the top ten skaters in every other club in the state by over 100 points. Villavicencio added, “This was a tremendous honor to win overall first place. Greeley should be very proud of their ice skaters and rink!”

Final Competition

The Colorado Springs Invitational is the final competition of the Rocky Mountain State Games held every March through September. The US Figure Skating sanctioned games are a cumulative competition of the skaters’ Learn to Skate Basic Skills series. Every figure skating club or ice rink is scored based on overall basic skill level requirements, technique, and competency.

Congratulations to the individual Greeley winners:

Allison Guzman Freeskate 1 3rd
Ziva LeRoy Freeskate 2 1st
Ava Rutenbeck Freeskate 3 1st
Raia Buxman Freeskate 3 3rd
Adlyn Mills Basic 3 1st
Kendall Chase Freeskate 5 1st
Queenie Zheng Freeskate 5 2nd
Ava Evans Basic 6 1st
Reagan Mitchell Freeskate 4 2nd

All participants who placed first through third in the competition receive a Skate Colorado Compete USA Series trophy.